So since all four of my boys are playing basketball this year, and boys' feet tend to grow at an enormously fast rate, they were all due for some new shoes. Not just any shoes, though. Real, expensive, name-brand basketball shoes. That they are only allowed to wear on the court. That are kept in their gym bag and carried into the game or practice and then the kids can change shoes once they are inside. That they put back in their bag once they are ready to go back outside. Great concept, has worked wonderfully well for years. Until this year. Somehow, we managed to lose an entire bag and the super expensive name-brand shoes inside it. Not only that, but these shoes were purchased by his father (my soon-to-be-ex) who is not so forgiving of the inevitable accidents of childhood, like losing a pair of shoes. To make matters worse, these shoes were on clearance when he bought them several weeks ago, before games began and even prior to the first practice. So I sent a different pair of shoes with him to practice on Tuesday and his father, who also happens to be coaching, noticed. Damn.
So Wednesday I began calling all over trying to locate this exact pair of shoes in the exact size we had already purchased them in so we could replace them without soon-to-be-ex ever knowing. (I think I will just start calling him STBE for "soon-to-be-ex" - any objections? - oh, wait, you have to have people who read your blog before there are even people to object... it stays!) So I find a pair (thank God) and get my mom to come over and watch the daycare kids so I can go buy them before practice on Thursday. These shoes are for my 12-year-old and when I picked them up, I realized how big they were. I mean, I know kids grow, but come on! So I decided to try them on just to see how tight they would be on my foot. And to my horror... They fit ME! And I have fairly decent size feet for a woman. I usually wear an 8 1/2 or 9 (although sometimes an 8 fits me just fine - go figure). So I got home and started looking at his shoes and THEY ALL FIT ME. So I go to my next-youngest child's shoes and THEY FIT ME TOO. He is 9. NINE and his shoes fit me. These kids are going to be giants. Soon, I am going to have to look UP when I talk to them. Half of the intimidation factor is that I am bigger and could probably kick their asses if I need to. So now I have to find something else to intimidate them with. Maybe their giant shoes?
So I told the two of them that even after basketball season is over, they are not allowed to wear their court shoes outside so that I could have them when they outgrow them. They thought I was joking. I wasn't. :)
Monday, February 23, 2009
Monday, February 16, 2009
The cactus - update #1
The cactus is still alive! Although I have been told that cacti are actually harder to keep alive than regular plants. Seriously? They live in the desert and are used to never having water and being neglected and all sorts of stuff like that. I watered it today and the instructions say to let it dry between thorough waterings so I watered the shit out of it. I let it drain in the sink and then put it back in its pretty container and set it back in the sun. So... we will see if it's still alive tomorrow or if I managed to kill it yet.
Thursday, February 12, 2009
Cactus...
Well, my soon-to-be-ex husband's grandmother passed away Saturday. She was a nice lady but was in the later stages of Alzheimer's so it was kind of a blessing. She raised nine kids, including three sets of twins. She was a good source of information when I became pregnant with my twins and then later actually had to take care of them.
So since we coach our sons' basketball teams (yes, multiple sons on multiple teams means I used the punctuation correctly!) the parents went together and gave us a few plants. One of them is a nice, normal green plant with some red stripey things on the leaves. You would know what I mean if you saw it. The other one? Its a CACTUS. Really. Seriously. A cactus. I am wondering if I should take it as a compliment. Like, "Here is a plant you can't kill even if you forget to water it for an entire year." Because I love plants but they always die on me. And when its a plant I was given in remembrance of someone, I always feel REALLY EXTRA BAD when I have to then throw the plant away. Its like, "Glad you didn't have to take care of the PERSON who just died because three weeks later the thriving plant you took home is dead because you suck at taking care of things and people need A LOT more attention than plants do."
I brought the plants home Tuesday night and I brought in the stripey one but because (once again) I suck at taking care of things, I forgot about the cactus and I left it in my vehicle in the garage. I think the desert gets cold at night so maybe it will forgive me. I need a name for the cactus. So then I will remember to take care of it. Wait, scratch that. I got a free tree seedling when I bought the movie Wall-E. (Ok, I didn't buy it - I was given it. Its a stupid movie but I got a free tree.) I named the seedling Dalton and then I put it on my desk until I could plant it (the ground was frozen when he came). So, the other day, I moved my desk to vacuum and I found Dalton. He is dead. And he was an EVERGREEN TREE. So maybe the cactus should fear for its life.
So since we coach our sons' basketball teams (yes, multiple sons on multiple teams means I used the punctuation correctly!) the parents went together and gave us a few plants. One of them is a nice, normal green plant with some red stripey things on the leaves. You would know what I mean if you saw it. The other one? Its a CACTUS. Really. Seriously. A cactus. I am wondering if I should take it as a compliment. Like, "Here is a plant you can't kill even if you forget to water it for an entire year." Because I love plants but they always die on me. And when its a plant I was given in remembrance of someone, I always feel REALLY EXTRA BAD when I have to then throw the plant away. Its like, "Glad you didn't have to take care of the PERSON who just died because three weeks later the thriving plant you took home is dead because you suck at taking care of things and people need A LOT more attention than plants do."
I brought the plants home Tuesday night and I brought in the stripey one but because (once again) I suck at taking care of things, I forgot about the cactus and I left it in my vehicle in the garage. I think the desert gets cold at night so maybe it will forgive me. I need a name for the cactus. So then I will remember to take care of it. Wait, scratch that. I got a free tree seedling when I bought the movie Wall-E. (Ok, I didn't buy it - I was given it. Its a stupid movie but I got a free tree.) I named the seedling Dalton and then I put it on my desk until I could plant it (the ground was frozen when he came). So, the other day, I moved my desk to vacuum and I found Dalton. He is dead. And he was an EVERGREEN TREE. So maybe the cactus should fear for its life.
Monday, February 2, 2009
I am weird...
So I was tagged in one of those special "25 Random Things About Me" notes on Facebook and decided to give it a go. Of course, after I got done and reread it, I realized I had left several things out that would give the reader a better glimpse into my life. The one I did include was my aversion to raw meat. Chicken, beef, pork, whatever - I can't touch it. I have to use gloves and even then I am terrified of some of the germs somehow still reaching my skin. I think I need to get some of those horse-delivering-gloves that vets use so I will be protected clear up to my underarms but then I would worry that I wouldn't be able to get them off by myself. The flip side of this that makes it REALLY weird - I love raw brownie batter. I eat it even though I know that it has raw eggs in it. I will EAT raw eggs (which I know full well is dangerous and germy) but I will not TOUCH raw meat with my bare hands.
I am scared of spiders. Big time. I have a aerosol can of spider spray in every room of my house. I cannot kill them with a flyswatter because I am sure they will see it coming, jump out of the way and then decide to mess with me and run up the handle and onto my arm. Which would probably give me a heart attack. I also can't pick up the dead spider once I kill it. I can't even vacuum it up because I am afraid I will later accidentally vacuum up something I will then have to retrieve from the bag. And if there is a dead spider body in there, I won't be able to dig through it. So I found a fabulous invention that picks up the spider for me. It has probably saved my life. More than once.
I have a thing about grammar and punctuation. I don't get into the really fancy stuff, but when major publications do not know the correct (there, they're) or (your, you're), or even (two, too, to) to use, it makes me really insane. I have nothing against abbreviating or even shortening words (ur=your, thx=thanks) and/or using numbers within letters (l8r=later, 2day=today) especially for text messaging since you are limited on characters but when you have a major company website or a news publication, USE PROPER ENGLISH!!! Seriously. Srsly.
I am not one of those people who takes a shower to relax. I hate being cold and wet and that is exactly how I feel after a shower. Even in the summer. I turn up the heater and I even have a special heater fan in my bathroom for the winter and I have been known to turn off the air conditioner in the summer and open my bathroom window (it is not visible unless you are beside my neighbor's garage and its a high window) just to let in plenty of hot air so I don't have to be cold when I get out. I take showers daily, so don't think I am gross, but I do not find them relaxing in any way.
My kids could probably tell you all sorts of strange and interesting things about me, but I will leave you with these to swallow for now. Maybe later I will think of more oddities to add to the weird list...
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
